Home > Uncategorized > www.burbwatch.com.au Chart Update – The First For Quite a While!

www.burbwatch.com.au Chart Update – The First For Quite a While!


Those of you who have been following me for a few years would know/realise that I have not been very active for the last year or so; in fact, I have not updated www.burbwatch.com.au for some 9-12 months (not sure how long exactly!).

Now, at long last, I have updated the charts site.

Changes

There has been some changes to the info that is presented at the site, which reflects three changes in BurbWatch’s focus:

  • Unreliable Data – I am still tracking front page stats from refindhouseprices.com,  but I must admit that it has increasingly less reliable over the last 9 months or so, due to data collection changes and failures of various sorts (I would run it myself, if I could!). For example, on no less than four occasions over the last 2 years I have indirectly contacted the site’s webmaster to have serious problems with the front page stats corrected (via the hosting company, as the webmaster has no details on the website, and even the WHOIS details do not work!). As a result, I have mostly removed most of the refindhouseprices.com based indices from prominence on BurbWatch, until I can re-jig the database and re-calibrate the indices to my statistical satisfaction. Honestly, I am quite disappointed about this, as I quite enjoyed developing and tracking these indices, and loved what I believed they were showing about the sub-surface dynamics of the Australian property market. Hopefully I can get this up and going again, reliably in the not too distant future…
  • Shift of Focus – Since I have been tracking sales listings trend by price category (since April 2011), I have realised that the potential exposition that this sort of demarcated information can provide on Australian property market dynamics is quite significant. As a result, I have been putting more and more effort into capturing, processing, analysing, studying, charting and presenting these data sets than the original BurbWatch data sets; three separate (though similar) Vendor price indices now exist for each Australian state, and so much other information could be extracted, presented and commented upon for the intra- and inter-category trends. I remain excited about this, and have provided some new charts in the latest update. I am also tracking Sold price and Rental price trends from realestate.com.au, and hope to present similar interesting information as the databases and associated charts mature.
  • Removal of Unncessary and/or Unreliable Charts – this was in part to save me work in managing and updating the databases, charts, blogs, etc, but was justified by assessing (in my opinion) the real value and quality of certain charts. As a result, a significant number of charts from the traditional BurbWatch chart-set have been removed; others are awaiting overhaul (such as the refindhouseprices.com based ones, which I love, as discussed above); and, much of the volume (and quality, I believe) of charts has been filled with the new price-category based charts.

So, if you can, please take a look at the updated www.burbwatch.com.au site, and let me know what you think.

POST-EDIT: For those of you that are interested, you can find the relevant BurbWatch chart pack HERE.

I hope you enjoy and even benefit from it.

Regards,

Stewart

http://www.processolutions.com.au

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 26, 2012 at 9:13 am

    This site is great. the ACT chart would have continued to see increase supply of rentals. I have been watching and places are popping all over the place at lower prices. Good times for renters that have suffered continued rent increases in recent years

    • November 26, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      Thanks, Puntpal.

      Glad to know that you’ve gotten some value from the site (so have SQM! ;)).

      Cheers,
      Stewart

  2. peter fraser
    December 6, 2012 at 7:10 am

    Hi Stewart – long time no see – hope all is well.

    Cheers, Peter.

    • December 12, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Hey Pete,

      Good to hear from you – thanks for dropping by.

      I’m generally not as active online, due to the demands of life (eg. dodging the shards of the crumbling mining boom – I have now lost 2 jobs in the space of 4 months!).

      Hasn’t helped that the stats from refindhouseprices.com have ceased to be reliable – which is a shame, as i believe I was developing some significant basic indices that could be used as macro-prediction tools for the Aussie housing market…..but, not to be now, it seems, as I only have limited access to limited resources.

      Additionally, I’m really glad to see that SQM is going to start producing a Vendor Price Index, which I have been producing for about 1.5 years now; such that I feel Burbwatch is starting to have some of the sort of impact I was hoping it would (all those visits to Burbwatch have served as a decent muse, eh, Louis? ;))

      I’ve got plenty more ideas, but only God knows if they’ll get used as well.

      Pete, thanks for dropping around and indulging my rant.

      Cheers,
      Stewart

  1. August 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

